Palisadians Shine at this Year’s Emmys

Dern, Kidman and Witherspoon Courtesy of IMDB


The 69th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards nominations were announced on Thursday, July 13 and, as fresh testimony to the talent of the town, several Palisadians made the cut television’s finest awards show.

Earning the most nominations for an individual show, the HBO drama “Westworld” scooped up 22 nominations, which included Sir Anthony Hopkins, formerly Honorary Mayor of Pacific Palisades, for Lead Actor in a Drama.

Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Veep | Courtesy of HBO


“Veep,” another HBO series, came in at a strong second this year earning 17 nominations. Palisadian Julia Louis-Dreyfus picked up her fifth-consecutive Best Actress nomination for her role as Vice-President-turned-first-female-President-turned-woman-in-search-of-a-presidential-library Selina Meyer in the politically charged satire.

“Modern Family,” which has been filmed at Palisades Charter High School, scooped up a nomination for Best Comedy Series. Now in its eighth season, the ABC show gave Adderley School-trained actress Sarah Hyland her big break into stardom.

Adderley School trained Sarah Hyland | Photo courtesy of IMDB

Former Palisadians Nicole Kidman and Reese Witherspoon both picked up Best Actress nominations for their roles in the HBO limited series “Big Little Lies.” The 10-part “whodunit” drama also features Palisadian Laura Dern.

“Transparent” star Jeffrey Tambor is up again for Lead Actor in a Comedy. Although shot in Venice and Pasadena, the Amazon Prime original is set in a fictional Pacific Palisades.

Meanwhile, “The Simpsons,” created by former Palisadian Matt Groening and now produced by Palisadian newcomer Matt Selman, received its 86th Emmy nomination this year.

Currently in its 28th season, “The Simpsons” is the longest-running primetime animated series in U.S. TV history and has won 10 awards for outstanding animated program—the most of all time.

Hosted by Stephen Colbert, the 2017 Primetime Emmy Awards will broadcast live on CBS on Sunday, Sept. 17.

Visit for a full list of nominations.