Girl Power

Charlotte Ward (right) of the Silver Stars dribbles around Walker Williamson of The Highlighters in an AYSO 8U girls game Saturday at the Debbie Held Tournament.
Photos by Rich Schmitt/Staff Photographer

AYSO Region 69 Holds 16th Annual Debbie Held Tournament at Will Rogers Park

One week after the 16th annual 8U Boys Sportsmanship Tournament, it was the 8U girls’ turn to take the field last Saturday at Will Rogers State Historic Park.

All 19 AYSO Region 69  girls 8U teams, along with a 20th team comprised of 6U girls invited to ‘play up’ to make an even number of tams in the round robin-style tournament named after longtime Region 69 Commissioner Debbie Held, who thanked all of the 8U girls referees and volunteers who helped throughout the day with a special thanks to Sandy Thayer and David Olsen, who spent one month coordinating all aspects of the tournament; to Tim Reynolds, Area Referee Administrator, who managed the referee assignments during the morning; and to Marc Gordonson, who spent the week assisting referees with signups.

Sportsmanship trophies were awarded to Coach Tim Byrnes’ 6UG Shooting Stars,

Ainsley Minker (left) of the Orange Crush and Peyton Trivas of the Panthers battle for possession in an AYSO 8U girls game Saturday at Will Rogers State Park.

consisting of Quinn Byrne, Presley Karsh, Malina Laycock, Harper Loew, Marlee Olsen, Nicole Sacks, Verona Warkentien and Avery Wynholds; and to Coach David Olsen’s 8UG Panthers, consisting of Bridget Byrne, Emerson Harper, Ren Newhall, Elin Olsen, Theodora Omens, Keaton Schaefer  and Peyton Trivas.

Sunday’s four pool winners were Coach Matt Plume’s Green Sapphires Pod A), Coach Gina Davis’s The Highlighters (Pod B), Coach Richard Turner’s Ice Breakers (Pod C) and Coach Katie Richie’s Purple Panthers (Pod D).